top of page
Search

How To Find High Quality Garments At The Thrift Store

Updated: Aug 23, 2021

When Marie Kondo first aired on Netflix my first thought was YES! Thrift stores are going to be filled with good finds. The idea of people emptying their closets of clothing that no longer brought them joy, brought me joy.


I have always loved vintage clothes. Garments from the past were typically made with higher quality textiles. For example, wool garments would likely have been made with 100% wool instead of a wool blend or a silk top was likely made with actual silk. Manufacturing was done domestically and typically the generations before us owned less clothing all together. Choosing to purchase only a few pieces or make their own clothing (there’s a warm spot in my heart for kooky homemade clothing with mis-matched seams).


The best part about shopping second hand is that you are typically able to purchase that higher quality piece of clothing for a fraction of today’s retail cost. Therefore, making that purchase even more savoury (due to the savings). So here are a few key things that I recommend to keep in mind in order to find the best quality garments.


Number One: Read the label


Personally, this is my favourite and most important rule. Content + care tags are very important to me. I use the label to tell me pertinent information about the fabric content and how to take care of the garment. For example, if I am looking at a wool sweater I will learn what type of wool it is and if it’s a blend. I prefer a higher wool ratio for the natural properties of wool (durability, odour resistance and comfort) and don’t want to be fooled into purchasing a 95% acrylic sweater with only 5% wool. Acrylic makes me sweat…which is not ideal in any situation.


Number Two: Look For Imperfections


The second thing I do is scan the item for imperfections. Vintage pieces often have holes, tears or rips due to them being worn by someone previous. So at that point, I can decide whether it is worth my time/energy to repair the garment. At a place like Value Village you can ask for a discount if you find an imperfection (please note: the garment will likely be final sale if you decide to accept the discount).


Number Three: Find A Tailor


If an item is oversized, ill-fitted or in need of a little TLC, consider taking it to a tailor. The quality of the garment itself is often worth the price of taking it to a professional for repairs or alterations. In the end, you will have a bespoke, high quality garment that you can take with you into old age. Where you can re-donate it back into the fashion cycle for future generations.


Shopping strategically for high quality second hand garments requires patience as you are not always guaranteed to find what you are looking for. But the thrill of finding the perfect one of a kind piece is close to winning the lottery. Learn more about my methods and spotting high quality garments by booking a free 15min consultation. We will discuss care + content labels and what to look for in order to find the highest quality garments to make the most of your money.


Happy thrifting!


bottom of page